DIY Succulent Garden

 

Untitled

I love plants, but I am a very bad plant mom. I constantly forget to water them so they die usually within the first couple weeks. After many pretty flowers wilting away I decided to try something different.. A cactus! I’ve had my first cactus for a few months now and it is doing great! This gave me the idea of making a little succulent garden to put in my room!

Its pretty easy to do and saves a lot of money by making it yourself! Here’s what you’ll need:

  • Succulents. I bought mine from garden centres, $6-10 CAD
  • Glass orb or whatever you would like the plants to be in, Winners $14.99 CAD
  • Pebbles or anything to cover the dirt, DollarTree $3 CAD
  • Spoons for scooping the dirt
  • Newspaper or table cloth if you are doing this inside. I forgot about this part and had to vacuum when I was finished.

IMG_0161

 

First I started out by removing the plants and excess soil from their roots, being very careful to not hurt or damage them. I then placed about 2 inches of dirt in the bottom of the glass orb.

I then played around with the placement to figure out where I wanted each plant to sit. When I finished this I added some more soil and made sure the roots were covered.

The spoons make this part a lot easier, since there wasn’t much room for my hands to fit in, I was able to move the plants & soil around much easier. Following this step I used my spoon to place my stones around the plants. I tried to make the soil lower near the sides so that the dirt would be hidden and would have a much cleaner look.

I spent a few minutes moving the stones and finding the perfect balance. The end result was exactly what I was looking for! These mini gardens are great for when you have a small space and can’t have anything to large. You could also macramé a hanger and have multiple orbs hanging to save even more space!

 

I hope you enjoyed this little mini walk through, xo Sara

Leave a comment