Cleaning Your Make up Brushes

I love doing my make up every morning & sometimes even throughout the day, but there’s nothing worse than dirty make up brushes. I like to try clean my brushes every 1-2 weeks to keep them from getting absolutely disgusting. It took me a while to find a routine that worked perfect for me. With a few tricks I’m now able to clean my brushes super quickly and have them so clean you could eat with them! Well you wouldn’t want to, BUT you could! So let’s see how you’ll get these brushes as clean as can be.

DSC_0006

 

What you will need:

Textured cutting board, basically anything plastic that has lots for small grooves one it. I picked mine up at the dollar store for $2

Plastic soap holder, make sure it has the tall bumps on it, again I picked this up at the dollar store for $2

A couple face cloths

A glass jar or cup, this one is about 4 inches tall and I find it works great• 91% isopropyl alcohol, you can this at basically any drug store. I picked mine up at walmart and it was around 5$

Brush shampoo, baby shampoo works as well and is much more affordable. You can get this one off of shop.janeiredale.ca for $44. It is quite expensive but well worth the money.

 

How to clean your brushes:
Start off buy pouring some alcohol into the glass jar, you can then dip your brush into this. Make sure just to dip the bristles. You don’t want any liquid getting into where the handle connects to the metal.

DSC_0009

Start rubbing your brush against the cutting board. You will notice lots of the make up coming out of the brush. For larger brushes, you can then use the soap holder, this will get right into it & get all that make up out! After this you can rinse out your brush.

 

Now your brush will look brand spankin’ new! But this is when I like to use my shampoo, so you can squirt a little bit onto the cutting board. Again,brush it against the board. You could probably skip this step but I like to make them smell nice.

DSC_0015

Wipe your brush on the face cloth & then let them sit over night laying down.

In the morning you should have clean & dry brushes. Believe me, you will not regret doing this. I sometimes find that if I go too long without cleaning then I will start breaking out! So, it is very important! Also, sorry for the awkward photos, it was very hard to use my big nikon with one had while cleaning!

Hope you enjoy your clean brushes,

img_7656-1

Leave a comment